top of page

Recent Posts

Quick Links



How does India Elect its President ( Who Can Vote )

As Pranab Mukherjee’s term ends on July 24, the Election Commission has announced that voting to elect India’s next President will be held on July 17, with counting on July 20, if needed.

Although no political parties have come up with the names of candidates, the balance of advantage is with the ruling National Democratic Alliance.

Who Can Vote The electrol college comprises members of both Houses Parliament and elected members of the legislative assemblies of all states, beside Delhi and Puducherry. A total of 4,896 voters, comprising 4,120 members of legislative assemblies and 776 elected members of parliament.

Who Cannot Vote Nominated members of the Rajya Sabha, Lok Sabha and legislative assemblies do not have the right to vote. Nor do members of he legislative councils.

Unlike the Lok Sabha and assembly elections in India, the Presidential election does not have an electronic voting system using EVMs.

The Election Commission will supply a special pen to all voters to mark their choice of candidate on ballot papers.

The elector has to mark preferences against the names of the candidates. While marking of the first preference is compulsory for the ballot paper to be valid, other preferences are optional.

Polling will take place in Parliament House and on the premises of legislative assemblies.

The procedure, laid down in the 1974 Rules, provides that after the vote, the elector is required to fold the ballot paper and insert it in the ballot box. The nomination paper of a Candidate has to be subscribed by at least 50 electors as proposers and by at least 50 electors as seconders. A security deposit of Rs 15,000 is also needed.

bottom of page